Magnetic Ghost Gives A Glimpse Into Rural Psychedelia

19 Oct

With the sounds of Minneapolis band Magnetic Ghost, a feeling of wandering instills the listener’s ears while listening to Grand Canyon, amongst their other songs from Loss Molecules. Lyrics making references to walls, the world, and places in life, one who enjoys shoegaze meets post punk will be delighted while listening to Magnetic Ghost. Listeners will find similarities between the sounds of Magnetic Ghost with Sonic Youth, Spooky Black, and Young Galaxy. The unfiltered and raw sound of their music makes Magnetic Ghost stand out in the music world that is now sometimes full with auto tuning, mixes, and tracks being overdone. Loss Molecules reminds one of memories, open spaces, and a glimpse in the world of rural psychedelia.

Jeff Lynne’s ELO at Radio City Music Hall

4 Oct


It is quite rare that you see a concert where the number of songs on the set list is actually fewer than the number of the band’s top 40 hits, but Jeff Lynne’s Electric Light Orchestra’s 18-song setlist came two short of the amount of charted hits from the band’s illustrious original 13-year career, where the band sold 50 million records and received 21 RIAA and 38 BPI awards. Those are just some of the tremendous statistics that I could conjure up about the tremendous career of one of the foremost progressive rock bands of the rock n’ roll era, but when I saw the reformed band of Jeff Lynne and Richard Tandy, two of the four originals (Tandy joined in 1972, two years after the bands founding) the band was solely concentrated on providing a bang-up performance for a sold-out Radio City audience, and that is what they did.

ELO formed out of the 1960’s early prog rock band, The Move, which was led by multi-instrumentalist Roy Wood. Lynne, who would later go on to produce a slew of records and help create the Traveling Wilburys (as Otis Wilbury), initially played second fiddle to Wood (inside joke for those who know what ELO was referred to in the States), but after Wood left the band in 1972, Lynne, Tandy, and drummer Bev Bevan released a remarkable collection of records, including a three year period where the band released Face the Music (1975), A New World Record (1976), and Out of the Blue (1977), a three-year assemblage of ELO hits, many of which were played during the Sept. 18 performance at the home of The Rockettes.

ELO mastered the craft of combining an infectious upbeat rock/pop sound with classical music. Many bands, like ELO, added such orchestrations to their music, but ELO was able to release songs with such efficacious alacrity that their success almost drowned out other bands trying to keep up with this pop/classical sound; thus, ELO was not only a pioneer but also the best in the business. It, therefore, was no surprise the ELO sold out two shows at Radio City Music Hall, and garnered a truly diverse crowd of several generations who enjoyed their music.

With vivacious crowd in tow, Jeff Lynne played a 1.5-hour set fit with a tremendous backing band and psychedelic video pairings. The crowd sang along with almost every song, and Lynne did a great job sprinkling hits throughout the set list, and then eventually bringing it home with a 9-song (yes, half the set list) string of songs that covered the full spectrum of why ELO is such a tremendous band.


Akin to nine straight hits in a baseball game, Lynne and his band played each song with an adept passion that obviously endeared the eager crowd and spawned the 6,000+ person arena to sing along with each noticeable song. It was too tempting not to join in, and I was there among the masses singing to each song. That is the joy of concerts like that from ELO, though, right? You go to sing along with the songs you love. Concerts, while communal, are still personal (somewhat singular) events where each goer responds to the music how he/she would like to respond. I always wanted to see ELO in concert as an ardent fan of their music, and I, my dad (my ever-present concert benefactor), and the rest of the crowd, was treated to a wonderful, energetic performance by a tight-knit group who knows the meaning of fun, catchy tunes. And, because why not, here is a live version of “Mr. Blue Sky” from 2001.



Thinking Bout You Redefines Traditional Pop With Reflective Lyrics & Masterful Mixing

27 Sep

Thinking Bout You brings all the elements of pop, hip hop, and fusion all in one track. Listeners will most likely draw comparison between front runners in the pop circuit such as Charlie Puth, Shawn Mendes, and Nick Jonas. Although based in Sydney, Australia listeners can anticipate Nick de la Hoyde bringing his sound over to the United States pretty quickly, just based on the catchy beats and the deep lyrics. With reflections within the song saying, “I know it’s kind of hard, I know you’re kind of scared”, it definitely cites with anyone who has experienced heartbreak or the thought of the past and memories. Furthermore, additional lyrics state “we were only young, I’ve been losing my pact to you”, digging deeper into the pop melody. With exceptional production value by Joseph (ZUZU) de la Hoyde and strong vocals, Nick de la Hoyde should be on anyone’s “ones to watch list” for 2017.

Reckless Gods Sets New Sound For Eagle|Stallion

22 Sep

With the start of the song heavy on synthetic beats, listeners become drawn into another world crafted by Eagle|Stallion in their new EP called Reckless Gods, in particular with the track Poseidon’s Dead. The whole tempo of the song is overall upbeat, with synthetic drop down tones adding musical variety to the song as well. Typical of a traditionally good EDM beat, listeners want to listen to beat variation, and the synth sound that is so unique to EDM tracks. The unique part about Eagle|Stallion’s EP is that it’s centered about the theme of mythology; citing the out there stories with their equally out there sound. Overall, with the tones of the mythological world and the sounds of Eagle| Stallion, the two worlds collide to form a perfect world.

Two Young Hearts Provides Memories & Feel Good Sounds

16 Sep

With the heartfelt lyrics of Dino Jag, any listener that hears Two Young Hearts will immediately think about a relationship that needs rekindling, or a lost romance. Either way, the vocal talents of Dino Jag draws listeners in this song, yielding an emotional reaction. Lyrics such as “we made it to the moon, but we got lost on Mars” simply provide an unconventional metaphor that demonstrates lyrical genius. Additionally, with the lyrics such as “If I could press rewind to the first time”, Jag paints a story within the song effortlessly. Known for his music within the international music spectrum, listeners in the United States will definitely be catching on to his unique and contagious sound.

%d bloggers like this: